# Minutes of the AGM Fungal Network Of New Zealand 28<sup>th</sup> Fungal Foray, Pohara Beach Wednesday 14<sup>th</sup> May, 2014, 8 pm

**Present:** Jerry Cooper (Councillor), David Orlovich (President), Bevan Weir (Treasurer), Shirley Kerr (Councillor), Helen Bichan, Peter Buchanan (Vice-President), Gregor Kolbe, Tom Davies, David Lyttle, Peter Johnston, Rob Packer, Eric McKenzie, Lawre Taylor, Alexis Guerrin-Laguette, Greg Bonito, Teresa Lebel, Shaun Pennycook, Wanda Daley, Kentaro Hosaka, Cecilia Wang, Roy Halling, Yun Wang, John Steel, Anna Chinn (non-member), Andy Nilsen, Bryce Kahlert, Pat Leonard, Ivona Kautmanova (non-member), Erika Pisarcikova (non-member).

**Apologies:** Petra White (Secretary), Paula Wilkie (Councillor), Mary Hunt, Genevieve Gates, David Ratkowsky, Sapphire McMullan-Fisher, Pam Catcheside, Jane Burton, Robert Bunce, Don and Karen Mackay.

#### **Minutes of the Previous AGM**

Copies of the 2013 minutes were circulated

Motion

Bevan Weir moved that the minutes of the 2013 AGM be accepted Seconded by Teresa Lebel No discussion *Motion carried* 

# Matters arising from the Previous AGM

None raised

# **President's Report**

The President Dr David Orlovich thanked all the attendees for coming to the foray, the organisers of the foray and those who worked to make in a success, in particular Peter Buchanan, Teresa Lebel, Bevan Weir, Shaun Pennycook and Wanda Daley.

# **Treasurer's Report**

Presented By Bevan Weir

Motion Tom Davies moved that the Treasurer's Report be accepted by the meeting Gregor Kolbe seconded Motion carried

# **Election of Officers**

Paula Wilkie indicated she was not standing for re-election as a councillor, and nominated Wanda Daley to Council. All other previous committee members agreed to stand again, so no election was held for those positions.

Motion

Tom Davies moved that Wanda Daley be elected to council. Seconded by Helen Bichan. *Motion carried.* 

President—David Orlovich

Vice President—Peter Buchanan Treasurer—Bevan Weir Secretary—Petra White Councillor—Jerry Cooper Councillor—Shirley Kerr Councillor—Wanda Daley

# **Confirmation of Auditor/Reviewer**

Motion Jerry Cooper moved that Tom Davies reviews our accounts for next year. Seconded by Pat Leonard Motion carried

Webmaster's Report

Presented by Bevan Weir

#### **General Business**

- **1. Location of next foray** Ruahine Ranges was suggested
- **2. Appointment of 2015 Foray Co-ordinator** Tom Davies, with the assistance of Suli Teasdale and Lawre Taylor
- **3. Proposed joint NZ foray & conference with Australasian Mycological Society** Suggested that Queenstown might be a suitable venue for a joint foray/conference in 2016. David Orlovich to advise Eirian Jones about this possibility.

# 4. Establishment of "Ross Beever Award" from \$5000 donation

Peter Buchanan advised that Jessica Beever has donated \$5000, being proceeds from the sale of *Pennantia baylisiana*, for an award for students.

#### Motion

Tom Davies proposed that the committee look into setting up a trust to administer the Ross Beever Award. Seconded by Peter Buchanan. *Motion carried* 

Motion

Lawre Taylor moved that FUNNZ match this by a \$5000 donation to top up the capital amount to \$10000. Seconded by Sean Pennycook. *Motion carried.* 

# 5. Other items from the floor

a. Rob Packer, a new member, commented that when he arrived that the foray on the first day, it was very apparent that no-one was there to welcome new members, to help get them oriented, nor to explain how the foray worked. He suggested that some of the organisers or regular attendees wear name badges and that we make a point of introducing newcomers to someone who knows what's going on. David Orlovich agreed these were fair comments and that we should try to be more inclusive of new participants at future forays, especially on the first day. b. Peter Buchanan advised that long-time foray participant Don Horne passed away. Don was at the first NZ Fungal Foray, was well known to members and nationally as the photographer of beautiful stamps and books on fungi (the latest edition with Geoff Ridley)

Meeting closed at 8:45 pm