You are here


The Fungal Network of New Zealand (FUNNZ) is an independent non-profit incorporated mycological society open to anybody. FUNNZ organises an annual national fungal foray. The main objects of the Society are:

  • To share knowledge about, and to publicise the fungi of New Zealand and their roles in all ecosystems
  • To stimulate research on fungi
  • To educate about fungi at primary to tertiary levels
  • To provide a cohesive group of amateur and professional people who share common interests in fungi
  • To assist in cataloguing New Zealand's fungi and to promote their conservation
  • To organise at minimum an annual national fungal foray
  • To attract funding for mycological research
  • To promote such other activities that may advance the aims of this Society

The current FUNNZ council is:

President: David Orlovich, Vice President: Peter Buchanan, Secretary: Petra Gloyn, Councillor and Webmaster: Bevan Weir, Treasurer: Renee Johansen, Councillor: Maj Padamsee, Councillor: Jerry Cooper, Councillor: Adrienne Stanton, Councillor: Lois Alison-Cooper

Annual General Meetings

Minutes of the AGMs can be downloaded below:

FUNNZ Constitution

FUNNZ was founded in 2005 under the Incorporated Societies Act, below is our constitution document: